ISSN 1000-1239 CN 11-1777/TP

    null
    null
    null

    Default Latest Most Read
    Please wait a minute...
    For Selected: Toggle Thumbnails
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2018, 55 (9): 2000-2001.  
    Abstract1018)   HTML35)    PDF (334KB)(443)       Save
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Survey on Approximate Storage Techniques
    Wu Yu, Yang Juan, Liu Renping, Ren Jinting, Chen Xianzhang, Shi Liang, Liu Duo
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2018, 55 (9): 2002-2015.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2018.20180295
    Abstract982)   HTML17)    PDF (2788KB)(515)       Save
    With the rapid development of cloud computing and Internet of things, how to store the explosively growing data becomes a challenge for storage systems. In tackling this challenge, approximate storage technology draws broad attention for its huge potential in saving the cost of storage and improving the system performance. Approximate storage techniques trade off the accuracy of the outputs for performance or energy efficiency taking advantages of the intrinsic tolerance to inaccuracies of many common applications. In this way, the applications improve their performance or energy efficiency while meeting the user requirements. Therefore, how to exploit the features of storages and fault-tolerant applications to improve data access performance, decrease space overhead, and reduce energy consumption is becoming a key problem for storage systems. In this paper, we first introduce the definition of approximate storage technology and show the techniques for identifying the approximate areas in the data. Then, we elaborate the approximate storage techniques for CPU cache, main memory, and secondary storage, respectively. We discuss the advantages and disadvantages of these approximate storage techniques along with the corresponding application scenarios. In the end of this paper, we summarize the features of approximate storage techniques and discuss the research directions of approximate storage techniques.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Survey on High Density Magnetic Recording Technology
    Wang Guohua, David Hung-Chang Du, Wu Fenggang, Liu Shiyong
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2018, 55 (9): 2016-2028.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2018.20180264
    Abstract848)   HTML6)    PDF (2383KB)(446)       Save
    In the era of big data, the demand for large-capacity disks has been growing. With minimal technology changes to the existing disk head and storage media of hard disks, the shingled magnetic recording (SMR) technology is the best choice to increase the disk storage capacity. The interlaced magnetic recording (IMR) technology is a newly developed technology in recent years, which can achieve higher storage density and random write performance than SMR. In this paper, we first introduce the shingled track layout of SMR drive and the resulting write amplification problem. We also review the data management methods that mitigate write amplification problem, the evaluation of performance characterizations, and the research on SMR-based upper applications. Then we introduce the interlaced track layout of IMR drive and its data write amplification problem. We also analyze the future research topics of IMR drive. Finally, we compare SMR drive and IMR drive from the storage density, random write performance, and other aspects. A variety of SMR-based upper applications, like file system, database, and RAID, prove that SMR drive can be effectively used to replace conventional disks to build large-scale storage systems. The advantages of IMR drive over SMR drive will make it have a bright future.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    A Tiny-Log Based Persistent Transactional Memory System
    Chen Juan, Hu Qingda, Chen Youmin, Lu Youyou, Shu Jiwu, Yang Xiaohui
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2018, 55 (9): 2029-2037.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2018.20180294
    Abstract719)   HTML4)    PDF (2156KB)(266)       Save
    In recent years,in order to exploit the performance advantage of persistent memory, researchers have designed various lightweight persistent transactional memory systems. Atomicity and consistency of transactions are mostly ensuredusing the logging mechanism. However,compared with conventional memory,memory cells of persistent memory tend to have higher write latency and limited endurance. This paper observes two problems in the existing persistent transactional memory systems: Firstly,existing systems do not distinguish between different types of write operations in the transaction. No matter whether the writes are updating existing data in memory or adding data to newly allocated memory, existing systems use the same logging mechanism to ensure consistency. Secondly,existing systems persist the address and data of every write operation to the log, even if most of them can be compressed to reduce the size. Both of the above problems lead to redundant log operations,resulting in extra write latency and write wearing. In order to solve the above problems,this paper designs and implements TLPTM,a tiny-log persistent transactional memory system. It is based on two optimization techniques: (1)AALO (allocation-aware log optimization), effectively avoids the logging overhead generated by the operations of adding data to newly allocated memory; (2)CBLO (compression-based log optimization), compresses the log before writing it to the NVM and reduces the overhead of logwriting. The experimental results show that compared with Mnemosyne, AALO improves the system performance by 15%~24%, and TLPTM using both optimizations reduces the write wearing of logging by 70%~81%.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    A Log-Structured Key-Value Store Based on Non-Volatile Memory
    You Litong, Wang Zhenjie, Huang Linpeng
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2018, 55 (9): 2038-2049.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2018.20180258
    Abstract951)   HTML10)    PDF (2337KB)(499)       Save
    Non-volatile memory (NVM) technologies are promising that would change the future of storage. NVM possesses many attractive capabilities such as byte addressability, low access latency, and persistence. It provides a great opportunity for the integration of DRAM and NVM in a unified main storage space. NVM could access data through the memory bus and CPU related instructions, which makes it possible to design a fast and persistent storage system in non-volatile memory. Existing key-value stores proposed for block devices implement NVM as block devices, which conceal the performance that NVM provides. A few existing key-value stores for NVM fail to provide consistency when hardware supports (e.g., cache flush) on power failures are unavailable. In this paper, we present a non-volatile memory key-value storage system, named TinyKV, which utilizes the log structure as its core framework. We propose a static concurrent, cache-friendly Hash table implementation using the characteristics of the key-value workloads. TinyKV separates the maintenance for data log of each worker thread in order to guarantee high concurrency. In addition, we implement the log structure technology for memory management and design a multi-tier memory allocator to ensure consistency. To reduce write latency, we reduce writes to NVM and cache flushing instructions by using cache flushing instructions. Our experiments demonstrate that TinyKV outperforms traditional key-value stores in both throughput and scalability.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Largepages Supported Hierarchical DRAMNVM Hybrid Memory Systems
    Chen Ji, Liu Haikun, Wang Xiaoyuan, Zhang Yu, Liao Xiaofei, Jin Hai
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2018, 55 (9): 2050-2065.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2018.20180269
    Abstract991)   HTML7)    PDF (5092KB)(449)       Save
    Hybrid memory systems composed of non-volatile memory (NVM) and DRAM can offer large memory capacity and DRAM-like performance. However, with the increasing memory capacity and application footprints, the address translation overhead becomes another system performance bottleneck due to lower translation lookaside buffer (TLB) converge. Large pages can significantly improve the TLB converge, however, they impede fine-grained page migration in hybrid memory systems. In this paper, we propose a hierarchical hybrid memory system that supports both large pages and fine-grained page caching. We manage NVM and DRAM with large pages and small pages, respectively. The DRAM is used as a cache to NVM by using a direct mapping mechanism. We propose a cache filtering mechanism to only fetch frequently-access (hot) data into the DRAM cache. CPUs can still access the cold data directly in NVM through a DRAM bypassing mechanism. We dynamically adjust the threshold of hot data classification to adapt to the diversifying and dynamic memory access patterns of applications. Experimental results show that our strategy improves the application performance by 69.9% and 15.2% compared with a NVM-only system and the state-of-the-art CHOP scheme, respectively. The performance gap is only 8.8% compared with a DRAM-only memory system with large pages support.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    R-Tree Optimization Method Using Internal Parallelism of Flash Memory-Based Solid-State Drives
    Chen Yubiao, Li Jianzhong, Li Yingshu, Li Faming, Gao Hong
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2018, 55 (9): 2066-2082.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2018.20180254
    Abstract883)   HTML3)    PDF (5119KB)(347)       Save
    Recently, flash memory-based solid state disk has more magnificent improvement on internal design than before, which brings rich internal parallelism to solid state disk. R-tree index is widely applied in spatial data management, but up to now, the proposed R-tree optimization methods on solid state disk do not take the internal parallelism into consideration, and also the approach designed for traditional magnetic disk is not suitable for solid state disk. So all of the previous R-tree optimization doesn’t use internal parallelism mechanism of solid state disk to make the query and update operation more efficient. In order to exploit internal parallelism to speed up R-tree. Firstly, a parallel batch asynchronous I/O submitting library is realized. Secondly, optimizing algorithms to accelerate the R-tree search and update operations are achieved by aggregating read or write operations to batch submit through the previous library, Thirdly, we analyze the minimal speed up expectation theoretically, and prove that normal solid state can achieve speed up of at least 1.86 times expectation speed-up with 4 channels and 2.93 times expectation speed-up with 8 channels. Through the experiments on two kind of solid state disk, our optimization R-tree can achieve stable 3 times speed up for query operation compared with original R-tree, and also speed up of about 2 times for update operation. No matter for query intensive or update intensive application scenarios, there is speedup between them.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    APMSS: The New Solid Storage System with Asymmetric Interface
    Niu Dejiao, He Qingjian, Cai Tao, Wang Jie, Zhan Yongzhao, Liang Jun
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2018, 55 (9): 2083-2093.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2018.20180198
    Abstract702)   HTML3)    PDF (3588KB)(258)       Save
    The solid storage system is an important way to solve the problem of computer memory wall. But the existing block-based storage management strategy can’t use the advantages of byte-addressable characteristics in solid storage system and causes write amplification, which seriously reduces the I/O performance and lifetime of NVM devices. In term of this problem, the new solid storage system with asymmetric interface named APMSS is presented, and the management of read and write access request are separated by the analysis of two type access request. The read access request is still managed by block unit to avoid increasing the overhead of I/O stack and keep high performance by cache. The minimized direct write strategy is designed and the write access request is managed by dynamic granularity to reduce the communication and written data to solid storage system. At the same time, the multi-granularity mapping algorithm is designed to avoid exchanging amplification between memory and solid storage system and improve the I/O performance. Then the write amplification of solid storage system could be avoided and the write performance of NVM devices could be improved. The prototype is implemented based on PMBD which is the open source solid storage system simulator. Fio and Filebench are used to test the read and write performance of Ext2 on PMBD, Ext4 on PMBD and Ext4 on APMSS. The test results show that Ext4 on APMSS can improve sequential write performance by 9.6%~29.8% compared with Ext2 and Ext4 on PMBD.
    Related Articles | Metrics

ISSN 1000-1239 CN 11-1777/TP

    2018新型存储系统结构前沿技术专题

    默认 最新文章 浏览次数
    Please wait a minute...
    选择: 显示/隐藏图片
    1. 2018新型存储系统结构前沿技术专题
    舒继武,刘志勇
    计算机研究与发展    2018, 55 (9): 2000-2001.  
    摘要831)   HTML20)    PDF (334KB)(361)   
    信息技术和系统应用的发展对信息存储技术提出了诸多新的要求。一方面,大数据时代对数据存储的规模和处理能力需求越来越高,亟需新型存储系统和技术以提供更高的性能和更好的可扩展性。而随着固态闪存和非易失性内存等存储介质的发展,一些基于固态闪存和非易失性内存的软件系统被设计和提出,这些为新型存储系统的构建与实现带来了新的机遇。另一方面,随着数据中心、云端数据存储服务及人工智能应用的日益广泛,现有的存储技术和系统难以满足上层应用的需求,人们仍在探索采用传统磁盘介质的存储系统的改进方案,以解决海量数据存储系统的高效可靠的架构及构造方法。基于以上背景,为促进存储领域的交流,《计算机研究与发展》推出了本期“新型存储系统结构前沿技术”专题,分别在多个方向上展示了存储领域近期的相关研究问题、研究现状以及研究结果。本期专题共计收录了7篇论文,分别涵盖了近似存储、高密度磁记录技术、持久性内存事务、键值存储、大页混合内存系统以及面向固态闪存的并发机制与新型接口系统等方面的研究主题,期望能够为从事相关工作的读者提供有益的参考。
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    2. 近似存储技术综述
    吴宇,杨涓,刘人萍,任津廷,陈咸彰,石亮,刘铎
    计算机研究与发展    2018, 55 (9): 2002-2015.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2018.20180295
    摘要689)   HTML8)    PDF (2788KB)(380)   
    随着云计算和物联网业务的快速发展,如何存储爆发式增长的数据成为存储系统的一个巨大挑战.为解决这一问题,近似存储作为一种解决存储资源紧张的必要手段越来越受到关注,它通过利用某些应用程序固有的容错特性,在输出结果的精度和应用的性能间进行权衡,以在满足用户需求的同时提升性能和能效.因此,如何针对不同的存储与应用的特点,通过近似存储数据解决访问性能低、空间开销大和能耗高等问题,已成为存储系统的研究热点.首先介绍近似存储技术的定义与近似区域的识别技术;接着分别阐述适用于高速缓存、内存和外存3个存储层次的近似存储技术,并分析其优缺点与应用范围;最后总结近似存储的特点,并探讨存储系统中近似存储技术的进一步研究方向.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    3. 高密度磁记录技术研究综述
    王国华,杜宏章,吴凤刚,刘石勇
    计算机研究与发展    2018, 55 (9): 2016-2028.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2018.20180264
    摘要618)   HTML2)    PDF (2383KB)(329)   
    大数据时代对大容量磁盘的需求日益增长,而在对现有的磁盘不进行较大改动的前提下,叠瓦式磁记录技术SMR是提高磁盘存储容量的最佳选择.近年来,兴起了一种新的磁记录技术——交错式磁记录技术IMR,它可以获得比SMR更高的存储密度和随机写性能.首先介绍了SMR磁盘的内部叠瓦式结构以及由此带来的数据写放大问题,并对缓解数据写放大问题的数据管理方式、性能特性评测以及基于SMR的上层应用系统方面的研究进展进行了概述;然后对新兴的IMR磁盘内部结构及其数据写放大问题进行了介绍,并对其将来的研究方向做了一定的分析和展望;最后对SMR磁盘和IMR磁盘在存储密度、数据写性能等方面进行了比较分析.当前有很多基于SMR磁盘的上层应用系统,这表明SMR磁盘可以高效地替代传统磁盘来构建大型的存储系统,而IMR磁盘的优势也将使其未来的发展前景可期.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    4. 一种基于微日志的持久性事务内存系统
    陈娟,胡庆达,陈游旻,陆游游,舒继武,杨晓辉
    计算机研究与发展    2018, 55 (9): 2029-2037.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2018.20180294
    摘要481)   HTML0)    PDF (2156KB)(215)   
    近年来,研究者们针对持久性内存良好的性能,设计了轻量级的持久性事务内存系统,它通过日志机制保证了事务的原子性和一致性.然而,相比于传统内存,持久性内存的存储单元往往具有更高的写延迟,并且存在有限的耐久性.发现现有的持久性事务内存系统存在日志机制带来过多的写操作问题:一方面,现有系统没有区分出事务中不同类型的写操作,即无论是对内存中已有数据的更新操作还是向事务中新分配区域添加数据的写操作,现有系统都采用相同的日志机制保证它们的一致性;另一方面,现有系统将更新操作的地址和数据等字段完整地持久化到日志中,即使其中大部分数据都可以通过压缩算法减少写入量.这2方面导致了冗余的日志操作,带来了额外的写延迟和写磨损.为了解决上述问题,设计并实现了一种基于微日志的持久性事务内存系统TLPTM,主要提出2个优化技术:1)分配操作感知的日志优化策略(allocation-aware log optimization, AALO),AALO有效地避免了向事务中新分配区域添加数据的写操作产生的日志开销;2)基于压缩算法的日志优化策略(compression-based log optimization, CBLO),CBLO将日志数据压缩后再写入到日志中,减少了日志操作的写开销.测试结果表明:相比于Mnemosyne,提出的日志优化策略AALO将事务性能提高了15%~24%,基于提出的2种优化技术实现的TLPTM将日志的写入总量降低了70%~81%.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    5. 一个基于日志结构的非易失性内存键值存储系统
    游理通,王振杰,黄林鹏
    计算机研究与发展    2018, 55 (9): 2038-2049.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2018.20180258
    摘要711)   HTML3)    PDF (2337KB)(426)   
    非易失性内存(non-volatile memory, NVM)技术是非常具有应用前景的计算机内存技术,将会对计算机存储层次结构产生极大的影响.NVM具有可字节寻址、可持久存储、低访问延迟等特点,这为DRAM和NVM在统一的主存储空间中的结合提供了巨大的机会.NVM可通过内存总线以及CPU相关指令进行数据访存,这使得在非易失性内存中设计快速的持久存储系统成为可能.现有的键值存储系统将NVM作为块设备使用,未能充分发挥NVM的性能.当硬件支持出现故障(例如高速缓存刷新)时,一些现有的键值存储系统无法保证数据的一致性.提出了一种基于日志结构的非易失性内存键值存储系统TinyKV,该系统利用键值数据负载的特性提出了一个静态并发、缓存友好的Hash表实现方案.TinyKV为每个工作线程维护单独的数据日志,以实现高并发性.此外,TinyKV采用日志结构技术进行内存管理,设计多层级内存分配器,以保证一致性.此外,系统通过减少对NVM的写入与缓存刷新指令,以降低写入延迟.实验显示:与传统的键值存储系统相比,TinyKV具有良好的吞吐性能与扩展能力.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    6. 一种支持大页的层次化DRAMNVM混合内存系统
    陈吉,刘海坤,王孝远,张宇,廖小飞,金海
    计算机研究与发展    2018, 55 (9): 2050-2065.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2018.20180269
    摘要710)   HTML2)    PDF (5092KB)(325)   
    随着大数据应用的涌现,计算机系统需要更大容量的内存以满足大数据处理的高时效性需求.新型非易失性存储器(non-volatile memory,NVM)结合传统动态随机存储器(dynamic random access memory, DRAM)组成的混合内存系统具有内存容量大、功耗低的优势,因而得到了广泛关注.大数据应用同时也面临着旁路转换缓冲器(translation lookaside buffer, TLB)缺失率过高的性能瓶颈.大页可以有效降低TLB缺失率,然而,在混合内存中支持大页面临着大页迁移开销过大的问题.因此,设计了一种支持大页和大容量缓存的层次化混合内存系统:DRAM和NVM分别使用4KB和2MB粒度的页面分别进行管理,同时在DRAM和NVM之间实现直接映射.设计了基于访存频率的DRAM缓存数据过滤机制,减轻了带宽压力.提出了基于内存实时信息的动态热度阈值调整策略,灵活适应应用访存特征的变化.实验显示:与使用大页的全NVM内存系统和缓存热页(caching hot page, CHOP)系统相比平均有69.9%和15.2%的性能提升,而与使用大页的全DRAM内存系统相比平均只有8.8%的性能差距.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    7. 基于闪存固态硬盘内部并行机制的R-树优化方法
    陈玉标,李建中,李英姝,李发明,高宏
    计算机研究与发展    2018, 55 (9): 2066-2082.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2018.20180254
    摘要608)   HTML2)    PDF (5119KB)(249)   
    近年来,闪存固态硬盘内部结构有了很大的改进,使得它已拥有丰富的内部并行性.R-树是一种被广泛应用于空间数据管理的索引结构.但是,基于传统机械硬盘和闪存固有特点优化的R-树索引,并没有利用固态硬盘内部并行性来提高查询和更新效率.针对R-树索引,提出一种利用固态硬盘内部并行机制加速查询和更新的方法.首先,实现一种适合于固态硬盘内部并行性的异步I/O提交技术.在此基础上,针对R-树的查询和更新操作,通过聚集读写请求批量提交,以达到利用固态硬盘内部并行性加速的目的.此外,通过理论分析证明该优化方法,即使在并行通道只有4或者8时,依然可以提供1.86和2.93的期望加速比.通过真实数据在3款固态硬盘上的实验测试结果表明,利用优化策略的查询算法可实现高达3倍的稳定加速比,优化后的更新算法可达到2倍以上的加速比.无论是查询密集型或是更新密集型应用场景均有介于两者之间的加速比.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    8. APMSS:一种具有非对称接口的固态存储系统
    牛德姣,贺庆建,蔡涛,王杰,詹永照,梁军
    计算机研究与发展    2018, 55 (9): 2083-2093.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2018.20180198
    摘要452)   HTML1)    PDF (3588KB)(215)   
    固态存储系统是解决计算机系统存储墙问题的重要手段,但当前所常用的基于数据块访问方式有很大的局限,存在写放大和无法利用内部存储器件支持字节读写特性等问题,严重影响了固态存储系统的I/O性能和使用寿命.设计了具有非对称接口的固态存储系统(APMSS).在分解文件系统层所提交访问请求的基础上,针对读操作的特性,设计了基于块的读机制,避免改变读粒度增加I/O软件栈开销,并能发挥读缓存的作用;设计了最小化直接写机制,包含通用块层的多粒度固态存储系统映射算法和驱动层的动态粒度写算法,仅将实际需写入数据和位置等信息发送给固态存储系统,提高固态存储系统的写性能,并减少对固态存储系统使用寿命的影响.在开源的块接口固态存储系统PMBD的基础上实现了APMSS的原型,使用存储系统的通用测试工具Fio和Filebench进行测试,结果表明APMSS上的Ext4相比PMBD上的Ext2和Ext4能提高9.6%~29.8%的写性能.
    相关文章 | 计量指标