ISSN 1000-1239 CN 11-1777/TP



    Default Latest Most Read
    Please wait a minute...
    For Selected: Toggle Thumbnails
    A Low-Latency Storage Engine with Low CPU Overhead
    Liao Xiaojian, Yang Zhe, Yang Hongzhang, Tu Yaofeng, Shu Jiwu
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2022, 59 (3): 489-498.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.20210574
    Abstract597)   HTML0)    PDF (770KB)(319)       Save
    The latency of solid-state drive (SSD) has improved dramatically in recent years. For example, an ultra-low latency SSD can process 4 KB data in 10 microseconds. With this low latency, how to reap the I/O completion efficiently becomes an important issue in modern storage systems. Traditional storage systems reap I/O completion through hardware interrupt, which introduces extra context switches overhead and further prolongs the overall I/O latency. Existing work use polling as an alternative to the hardware interrupt, thereby eliminating the context switches, but at the cost of high CPU consumption. This paper proposes a CPU-efficient and low-latency storage engine namely NIO, to take full advantage of the ultra-low latency SSDs. The key idea of NIO is to separate the I/O paths of short I/Os from that of long I/Os; NIO uses classic hardware interrupt for long I/Os, as polling long I/Os does not bring significant improvement but incurs huge CPU overhead; for short I/Os, NIO introduces lazy polling, which lets the I/O thread sleep for a variable time interval before continuously polling, thereby achieving low latency with low CPU consumption. NIO further introduces transaction-aware I/O reaping mechanism to reduce the transaction latency, and a dynamic adjustment mechanism to cope with the dynamic changes of the workload and internal activities of the device. Under dynamic workloads, NIO shows comparable performance against polling-based storage engine while reducing the CPU consumption by at least 59%.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    A Scalable Timestamp-Based Durable Software Transactional Memory
    Liu Chaojie, Wang Fang, Zou Xiaomin, Feng Dan
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2022, 59 (3): 499-517.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.20210565
    Abstract338)   HTML0)    PDF (4326KB)(218)       Save
    The emerging non-volatile memory(NVM) provides a lot of advantages, including byte-addressability, durability, large capacity and low energy consumption. However, it is difficult to perform concurrent programming on NVM, because users have to ensure not only the crash consistency but also the correctness of concurrency. In order to reduce the development difficulty, persistent transactional memory has been proposed, but most of the existing persistent transactional memory has poor scalability. Through testing, we find that the limiting factors of scalability are global logical clock and redundant NVM write operation. In order to eliminate the impact of these two factors on scalability: A thread logical clock method is proposed, which eliminates the problem of global logical clock centralization by allowing each thread to have an independent clock; a dual version method of cache line awareness is proposed, which maintains two versions of the data, and updates the two versions cyclically to ensure the crash consistency of the data, thereby eliminating redundant NVM write operations. And based on these two methods, a scalable durable transactional memory (SDTM) is implemented and fully tested. The results show that under YCSB workload, compared with DudeTM and PMDK, its performance is up to 2.8 times and 29 times higher, respectively.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    PPO-Based Automated Quantization for ReRAM-Based Hardware Accelerator
    Wei Zheng, Zhang Xingjun, Zhuo Zhimin, Ji Zeyu, Li Yonghao
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2022, 59 (3): 518-532.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.20210551
    Abstract196)   HTML0)    PDF (5749KB)(127)       Save
    Convolutional neural networks have already exceeded the capabilities of humans in many fields. However, as the memory consumption and computational complexity of CNNs continue to increase, the “memory wall” problem, which constrains the data exchange between the processing unit and memory unit, impedes their deployments in resource-constrained environments, such as edge computing and the Internet of Things. ReRAM(resistive RAM)-based hardware accelerator has been widely applied in accelerating the computing of matrix-vector multiplication due to its advantages in terms of high density and low power, but are not adept for 32 b floating-point data computation, raising the demand for quantization to reduce the data precision. Manually determining the bitwidth for each layer is time-consuming, therefore, recent studies leverage DDPG(deep deterministic policy gradient) to perform automated quantization on FPGA(field programmable gate array) platform, but it needs to convert continuous actions into discrete actions and the resource constraints are achieved by manually decreasing the bitwidth of each layer. This paper proposes a PPO(proximal policy optimization)-based automated quantization for ReRAM-based hardware accelerator, which uses discrete action space to avoid the action space conversion step.We define a new reward function to enable the PPO agent to automatically learn the optimal quantization policy that meets the resource constraints, and give software-hardware modifications to support mixed-precision computing. Experimental results show that compared with coarse-grained quantization, the proposed method can reduce hardware cost by 20%~30% with negligible loss of accuracy. Compared with other automatic quantification, the proposed method has a shorter search time and can further reduce the hardware cost by about 4.2% under the same resource constraints. This provides insights for co-design of quantization algorithm and hardware accelerator.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Energy-Efficient Floating-Point Memristive In-Memory Processing System Based on Self-Selective Mantissa Compaction
    Ding Wenlong, Wang Chengning, Tong Wei
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2022, 59 (3): 533-552.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.20210580
    Abstract196)   HTML0)    PDF (3743KB)(119)       Save
    Matrix-vector multiplication (MVM) is a key computing kernel for solving high-performance scientific systems. Recent work by Feinberg et al has proposed a method of deploying high-precision operands on memristive crossbars, showing its great potential on accelerating scientific MVM. Since different types of scientific computing applications have different precision requirements, providing appropriate computation methods for specific applications is an effective way to further reduce energy consumption. This paper proposes a system with mantissa compaction and alignment optimization strategies. Under the premise of implementing the basic function of high-precision floating-point memristive MVM, the proposed system is also possible to properly select the compaction bits of the floating-point mantissa according to application precision requirements. By neglecting the activation of the low-bit crossbars with less mantissa significance and the redundant alignment crossbars when performing computation, the energy consumption of computational crossbars and peripheral circuits are significantly reduced. The evaluation result shows that when the crossbar-based in-memory solutions of sparse linear systems have average solving residual of 0~10\+\{-3\} order of magnitude compared with the software baseline, the average energy consumption of computational crossbars and peripheral analog-to-digital converters are reduced by 5%~65% and 30%~55% compared with the existing work without optimization, respectively.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Endurance Aware Out-of-Place Update for Persistent Memory
    Cai Changxing, Du Yajuan, Zhou Taiyu
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2022, 59 (3): 553-567.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.20210541
    Abstract169)   HTML0)    PDF (1984KB)(83)       Save
    Persistent memory has excellent characteristics such as non-volatility, byte-addressable, fast random read and write speed, low energy consumption, and large scalability, which provides new opportunities for big data storage and processing. However, the problem of crash consistency of persistent memory systems poses challenges to its widespread application. Existing research work on crash consistency guarantee usually takes extra read and write as the cost, which has a certain impact on the performance and lifetime of persistent memory systems in the time and space dimensions. To reduce this impact, an endurance aware out-of-place update for persistent memory(EAOOP) is proposed. Through software transparent out-of-place update technology, endurance aware memory management is provided for persistent memory, and data is alternately refreshed to the original data region and the updated data region. EAOOP not only guarantees the system’s crash consistency but also avoids redundant data merging operations. At the same time, to efficiently use the memory space, a lightweight garbage collection is performed in the background to process the old data in the updated data region, reducing extra write amplification and bandwidth occupation, thereby further reducing the impact on the lifetime and performance of the persistent memory. Evaluations show that EAOOP has higher performance and less overhead compared with existing work. Among them, the transaction throughput is increased by 1.6 times, and the critical path latency and the write number are decreased by 1.3 times.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    DRAM-Based Victim Cache for Page Migration Mechanism on Heterogeneous Main Memory
    Pei Songwen, Qian Yihuan, Ye Xiaochun, Liu Haikun, Kong Linghe
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2022, 59 (3): 568-581.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.20210567
    Abstract268)   HTML1)    PDF (2837KB)(176)       Save
    When massive data access heterogeneous memory systems, memory pages often migrate between DRAM and NVM. However, the traditional memory page migration strategy is difficult to adapt to the rapid dynamic changes among “hot” and “cold” memory pages. The “cold” pages just migrated from DRAM to NVM will become “hot” again, which results in a large number of redundant migrations, as well as false migrations. Previous related researches only focus on pages that are being migrated without paying too much attention to pages that in the migration waiting queue or that have been migrated. Therefore, this paper proposes a heterogeneous memory page migration mechanism based on DRAM-based victim Cache (VC-HMM) by adding a small capacity of victim Cache between DRAM and PCM. The “cold” pages will be migrated from DRAM to victim Cache. DRAM victim Cache can avoid redundant migrations caused by the main memory pages getting hot again in a short time. Meanwhile, some pages do not need to be written back to PCM that can reduce the number of write operations on PCM and extend the lifetime of PCM. In particular, VC-HMM can automatically update the execution parameters of migration for different workloads to increase the rationality of migration. Experimental results show that compared with other migration strategies (CoinMigrator, MQRA, THMigrator), VC-HMM reduces the average number of PCM write operations by 62.97%, the average access latency by 22.72%, the re-migration times by 38.37%, and the energy consumption by 3.40%.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Decoding Method of Reed-Solomon Erasure Codes
    Tang Dan, Cai Hongliang, Geng Wei
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2022, 59 (3): 582-596.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.20210575
    Abstract178)   HTML0)    PDF (2885KB)(63)       Save
    As known, RS (Reed-Solomon) codes can construct any fault-tolerant codewords according to the application environment, which has good flexibility, and the storage system using RS erasure code as the fault-tolerant method can achieve the optimal storage efficiency. However, compared with XOR(exclusive-OR)-based erasure codes, RS erasure codes require too much time to decode, which greatly hinders its use in the distributed storage system. In order to solve this problem, this paper proposes a decoding method for RS erasure codes. This new method completely discards the matrix inversion which is commonly used in all current RS erasure codes decoding methods, and only uses the addition and multiplication with less computational complexity, and the linear combination of the invalid symbols by the valid symbols can obtained by the simple matrix transformation on the constructed decoding transforming matrix, thereby reducing the complexity of decoding calculations. Finally, the correctness of the method is proved theoretically, and for each file of different sizes, three file blocks of different sizes are divided, and the data blocks obtained by the division are tested. The experimental results show that in the case of different file block sizes, the new decoding method has lower decoding time cost than other methods.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Near-Data Processing-Based Parallel Compaction Optimization for Key-Value Stores
    Sun Hui, Lou Bendong, Huang Jianzhong, Zhao Yuhong, Fu Song
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2022, 59 (3): 597-616.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.20210577
    Abstract174)   HTML0)    PDF (8746KB)(75)       Save
    Large-scale unstructured data management brings unprecedented challenges to existing relational databases. The log-structured merge tree (LSM-tree) based key-value store has been widely used and plays an essential role in data-intensive applications. The LSM-tree can convert random-write operations into sequential ones, thereby improving write performance. However, the LSM-tree key-value storage system also has some problems. First, the key-value storage system uses compaction operations to update data to balance system performance, but it impacts system performance and causes serious write amplification. Second, the traditional computing-centric data transmission also limits the overall system performance in compaction. This paper applied the data-centric near-data processing (NDP) model in the storage system. We propose a collaborative parallel compaction optimization for LSM-tree key-value stores named CoPro. The two parallel (i.e., data and pipeline parallelism) are fully utilized to improve compaction performance. When the compaction is triggered, the host-side CoPro determines the partitioning ratio of the compaction tasks according to the offloading strategy and divides tasks according to the ratio. Then, compaction subtasks are offloaded to the host and device sides, respectively, through the semantic management module. We design a decision component in the host-side and device-side CoPro, which is remarked as CoPro+. CoPro+ can dynamically adjust the parallelism according to changes in the resource of system and the value of key-value pairs in workloads. Extensive experimental results validate the benefits of CoPro compared with two popular NDP-based key-value stores.
    Related Articles | Metrics

ISSN 1000-1239 CN 11-1777/TP

    2022存储系统与智能处理专题

    默认 最新文章 浏览次数
    Please wait a minute...
    选择: 显示/隐藏图片
    1. 低CPU开销的低延迟存储引擎
    廖晓坚, 杨者, 杨洪章, 屠要峰, 舒继武
    计算机研究与发展    2022, 59 (3): 489-498.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.20210574
    摘要519)      PDF (770KB)(278)   
    近些年来,固态存储的硬件处理速率得到了极大改善.一块超低延迟的固态存储盘能在10 μs内处理4 KB大小的数据.加速I/O收割过程以构建低延迟的存储引擎是存储系统研究中的一个重要研究课题.传统存储系统通过硬件中断机制收割I/O,却引入了额外的上下文切换开销,延长了整体I/O处理时间.现有工作使用轮询机制以消除上下文切换,却要付出高昂的CPU开销.提出了一种低CPU开销的低延迟存储引擎NIO(nimble I/O),以充分发挥高性能固态存储盘的低延迟优势.NIO的核心思想是将大小I/O处理路径分离;大I/O使用硬件中断机制;小I/O引入惰性轮询机制,先睡眠一个变长时间间隔再持续轮询.NIO进一步提出了事务感知的I/O收割机制以降低事务的延迟,以及动态调整机制以应对上层应用负载以及设备内部活动的动态变化.实验显示在动态负载下,NIO与基于轮询的存储引擎性能相当,并能减少至少59%的CPU占用率.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    2. 一种基于时间戳的高扩展性的持久性软件事务内存
    刘超杰, 王芳, 邹晓敏, 冯丹
    计算机研究与发展    2022, 59 (3): 499-517.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.20210565
    摘要298)      PDF (4326KB)(200)   
    新兴的非易失性内存(non-volatile memory, NVM)具有字节寻址、持久性、大容量和低功耗等优点,然而,在NVM上进行并发编程往往比较困难,用户既要保证数据的崩溃一致性又要保证并发的正确性.为了降低用户开发难度,研究人员提出持久性事务内存方案,但是现有持久性事务内存普遍存在扩展性较差问题.测试发现限制扩展性的关键因素在于全局逻辑时钟和冗余NVM写操作.针对这2个方面,提出了线程逻辑时钟方法,通过允许每个线程拥有一个独立时钟,消除全局逻辑时钟中心化问题;提出了缓存行感知的双版本方法,为数据维护2个版本,通过循环更新这2个版本来保证数据的崩溃一致性,从而消除冗余的NVM写操作.基于所提出的这2个方法,实现了一个基于时间戳的高扩展的持久性软件事务内存(scalable durable transactional memory, SDTM),对比测试显示,在YCSB负载下,与DudeTM和PMDK相比,SDTM的性能最多分别提高了2.8倍和29倍.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    3. 基于近端策略优化的阻变存储硬件加速器自动量化
    魏正, 张兴军, 卓志敏, 纪泽宇, 李泳昊
    计算机研究与发展    2022, 59 (3): 518-532.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.20210551
    摘要154)      PDF (5749KB)(118)   
    卷积神经网络在诸多领域已经取得超出人类的成绩.但是,随着模型存储开销和计算复杂性的不断增加,限制处理单元和内存单元之间数据交换的“内存墙”问题阻碍了其在诸如边缘计算和物联网等资源受限环境中的部署.基于阻变存储的硬件加速器由于具有高集成度和低功耗等优势,被广泛应用于加速矩阵-向量乘运算,但是其不适合进行32 b浮点数计算,因此需要量化来降低数据精度.手工为每一层确定量化位宽非常耗时,近期的研究针对现场可编程门阵列(field programmable gate array, FPGA)平台使用基于深度确定性策略梯度(deep deterministic policy gradient, DDPG)的强化学习来进行自动量化,但需要将连续动作转换为离散动作,并通过逐层递减量化位宽来满足资源约束条件.基于此,提出基于近端策略优化(proximal policy optimization, PPO)算法的阻变存储硬件加速器自动量化,使用离散动作空间来避免动作空间转换步骤,设计新的奖励函数使PPO自动学习满足资源约束的最优量化策略,并给出软硬件设计改动以支持混合精度计算.实验结果表明:与粗粒度的量化相比,提出的方法可以减少20%~30%的硬件开销,而不引起模型准确度的过多损失.与其他自动量化相比,提出的方法搜索时间短,并且在相同的资源约束条件下可以进一步减少约4.2%的硬件开销.这为量化算法和硬件加速器的协同设计提供了参考.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    4. 基于自选尾数压缩的高能效浮点忆阻存内处理系统
    丁文隆, 汪承宁, 童薇
    计算机研究与发展    2022, 59 (3): 533-552.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.20210580
    摘要148)      PDF (3743KB)(111)   
    矩阵向量乘法(matrix-vector multiplication, MVM)运算是高性能科学线性系统求解的重要计算内核.Feinberg等人最近的工作提出了将高精度浮点数部署在忆阻阵列上的方法,显示出其在加速科学MVM运算方面的巨大潜力.由于科学计算不同类型的应用对于求解精度的要求各不相同,为具体应用提供合适的计算方式是进一步降低系统能耗的有效途径.展示了一种拥有尾数压缩与对齐位优化策略的系统,在实现高精度浮点数忆阻MVM运算这一基本功能的前提下,能够根据具体应用的求解精度要求选择合适的浮点数尾数压缩位数.通过忽略浮点数尾数权重较小的部分低位与冗余的对齐位的阵列激活,减小运算时阵列及外围电路的能耗.评估结果表明:当忆阻器求解相对于软件基线平均分别有0~10\+\{-3\}数量级的求解残差时,平均运算阵列能耗与模数转换器能耗相对于已有的优化前的系统分别减少了5%~65%与30%~55%.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    5. 耐久性感知的持久性内存异地更新
    蔡长兴, 杜亚娟, 周泰宇
    计算机研究与发展    2022, 59 (3): 553-567.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.20210541
    摘要122)      PDF (1984KB)(72)   
    持久性内存具有非易失性、可字节寻址、随机读写速度快、能耗低以及可扩展性强等优良特性,为大数据存储和处理提供了新的机遇.然而,持久性内存系统的故障一致性问题为其广泛推广应用带来挑战.现有一致性保证的研究工作通常以增加额外读写为代价,对持久性内存系统的性能和寿命在时间和空间维度产生了一定的影响.为了降低该影响,提出一种耐久性感知的持久性内存异地更新机制(endurance aware out-of-place update for persistent memory, EAOOP).通过软件透明的异地更新技术,为持久性内存提供耐久性感知的内存管理,将数据交替刷新至原始数据区域和更新数据区域.EAOOP既保证了系统的故障一致性,又避免了冗余的数据合并操作.同时,为了高效利用内存空间,在后台执行轻量级垃圾回收,处理更新数据区域的旧数据,减少了额外的写放大和带宽占用,从而进一步降低了对持久性内存寿命和性能的影响.实验显示,EAOOP相比于现有工作,具有更高的性能和更少的开销.其中,事务处理吞吐量提升了1.6倍,总线延迟和写数量分别减少了27.3%和32.4%.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    6. 基于DRAM牺牲Cache的异构内存页迁移机制
    裴颂文, 钱艺幻, 叶笑春, 刘海坤, 孔令和
    计算机研究与发展    2022, 59 (3): 568-581.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.20210567
    摘要204)      PDF (2837KB)(149)   
    当海量数据请求访问异构内存系统时,异构内存页在动态随机存储器(dynamic random access memory, DRAM)和非易失性存储器(non-volatile memory, NVM)之间进行频繁的往返迁移.然而,应用于传统内存页的迁移策略难以适应内存页“冷”“热”度的快速动态变化,这使得从DRAM迁移至NVM的“冷”页面可能在短时间内变“热”从而产生大量冗余的迁移操作.当前的相关研究都仅着眼于正在执行迁移的页面而忽视了等待迁移和完成迁移的页面,且判断“冷”“热”程度的标准不一,使得冗余的迁移大量产生.因此,提出了一个基于DRAM牺牲Cache的异构内存页迁移机制(VC-HMM),使用非易失性存储器中工艺较为成熟的相变存储器(phase change memory, PCM),通过在DRAM和PCM之间增加一个由DRAM构成的小容量牺牲Cache将系统主存DRAM中变“冷”的页面迁移到牺牲Cache中,以避免主存页面在短时间内再次变“热”而造成的冗余迁移.同时,还使得迁回PCM的部分页面不需要写回,减少PCM存储单元的写入操作次数,延长PCM的使用寿命.另外,对于不同的工作负载,VC-HMM可以自适应设置迁移操作的参数,增加迁移的合理性.实验结果表明:与其他迁移策略(CoinMigrator,MQRA,THMigrator)相比,VC-HMM平均减少了至少62.97%的PCM写操作次数、22.72%的平均访问时延、38.37%的重复迁移操作以及3.40%的系统能耗.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    7. RS类纠删码的译码方法
    唐聃, 蔡红亮, 耿微
    计算机研究与发展    2022, 59 (3): 582-596.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.20210575
    摘要135)      PDF (2885KB)(48)   
    RS(Reed-Solomon)码可以根据应用环境构造出任意容错能力的码字,有很好的灵活性,且使用RS纠删码作为容错方法的存储系统能达到理论最优的存储效率.但是,与异或(exclusive-OR, XOR)类纠删码相比,RS类纠删码译码计算的时间开销过大,这又很大程度上阻碍了它在分布式存储系统中的使用.针对这一问题,提出了一类RS纠删码的译码方法,该方法完全抛弃了当前大多RS类纠删码译码方法中普遍使用的矩阵求逆运算,仅使用计算复杂度更小的加法和乘法,通过构造译码变换矩阵并在此矩阵上执行相应的简单的矩阵变换,能够直接得出失效码元由有效码元组成的线性组合关系,从而降低译码计算复杂度.最后,通过理论证明了该方法的正确性,并且针对每种不同大小的文件,进行3种不同大小文件块的划分,将划分得到的数据块进行实验,实验结果表明:在不同的文件分块大小情况下,该新译码方法较其他方法的译码时间开销更低.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    8. 近数据计算下键值存储中Compaction并行优化方法
    孙辉, 娄本冬, 黄建忠, 赵雨虹, 符松
    计算机研究与发展    2022, 59 (3): 597-616.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.20210577
    摘要134)      PDF (8746KB)(59)   
    大规模非结构化数据的爆炸式增长给传统关系型数据库带来了极大的挑战.基于日志结构合并树(log-structured merge tree, LSM-tree)的键值存储系统已被广泛应用,并起到重要的作用,原因在于基于LSM-tree的键值存储能够将随机写转化为顺序写,从而提升性能.然而,LSM-tree键值存储也存在一些性能问题.一方面,键值存储利用compaction操作更新数据,保持系统平衡,但造成严重的写放大问题.另一方面,以传统计算为中心的架构下,compaction操作带来大量的数据传输,影响了系统性能.以数据为中心的近数据计算模型(near-data processing, NDP)为基础,利用该模型下主机端与近数据计算使能设备端的并行资源,提出基于系统并行与流水线并行的compaction优化方法(collaborative parallel compaction optimization for LSM-tree key-value stores, CoPro).当处理compaction操作时,CoPro主机端与NDP设备端协同执行compaction卸载任务.此外,进一步提出基于决策组件的CoPro+,根据系统资源变化以及负载键值对中值大小的变化来动态调整并行度,使NDP架构中计算资源的使用更加高效.在搭建的硬件平台上验证了CoPro的有效性.
    相关文章 | 计量指标