ISSN 1000-1239 CN 11-1777/TP

    null
    null
    null

    Default Latest Most Read
    Please wait a minute...
    For Selected: Toggle Thumbnails
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2016, 53 (7): 1423-1424.  
    Abstract955)   HTML0)    PDF (389KB)(656)       Save
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Energy-Efficient Fingerprint Matching Based on Reconfigurable Micro Server
    Qian Lei, Zhao Jinming, Peng Dajia, Li Xiang, Wu Dong, Xie Xianghui
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2016, 53 (7): 1425-1437.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160076
    Abstract1201)   HTML0)    PDF (4765KB)(792)       Save
    Large-scale fingerprint based application needs high-performance fingerprint matching backend system as a support. Based on reconfigurable micro server(RMS) technology, we propose a software-hardware cooperated fingerprint matching approach. Relying on the advantages of reconfigurable hybrid core computing architecture, our approach can accelerate the computing intensive part of fingerprint matching algorithm by using highly customized hardware accelerator and process the parts which contain complex control flows and a large number of discrete memory accesses on general processing cores. Then, we complete the implementation of algorithm prototype and the performance test on RMS computing node. The test result shows that, single RMS node can achieve about 10,500 fingerprint matches per second with only 5 watts power consumption. Compared with related works, the fingerprint matching performance of a single RMS computing node is 15.5 times that of a single X86 cluster node. Its energy efficiency is 583 times of single X86 cluster node and 5.4 times of Tesla C2075 based GPU server. Based on RMS technology, our method is more flexible and extensible than FPGA platform. It is expected to become an effective technique solution for building large-scale fingerprint matching system in the future.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    A High Energy Efficiency FFT Accelerator on DSP Chip
    Lei Yuanwu, Chen Xiaowen, Peng Yuanxi
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2016, 53 (7): 1438-1446.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160123
    Abstract1872)   HTML8)    PDF (3876KB)(896)       Save
    Fast Fourier transform (FFT) is a most time-consuming algorithm in the domain of digital signal processing (DSP). The performance and energy efficiency of FFT will make significant effect on different DSP applications. Thus, this paper presents a high energy efficiency variable-size FFT accelerator based on matrix transposition on DSP chip. Several parallel schemes are employed to exploit instruction level parallel and task level parallel of batch of small-size FFTs or big-size Cooley-Tukey FFT. A “Ping-Pong” structure of multi-bank data memory (MBDM) is presented to overlap the overhead of data move and FFT calculation. Moreover, based on MBDM, fast matrix transposition algorithm with basic block transposition is presented to avoid the matrix access with column-wise and improve the utilization of DDR bandwidth. Hybrid twiddle factor generating scheme, combining lookup table and on-line calculation with CORDIC, is presented to reduce the hardware for twiddle factor. Experimental results show that our FFT accelerator prototype with power efficiency of 146 GFLOPs/W, achieves energy efficiency improvement by about two orders of magnitude with multi-thread FFTW on Intel Xeon CPU.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    P-SMART: An Energy-Efficient NoC Router Based on SMART
    Li Bin, Dong Dezun, Wu Ji, Xia Jun
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2016, 53 (7): 1447-1453.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160150
    Abstract1007)   HTML1)    PDF (3553KB)(548)       Save
    As the number of on-chip cores in chip multiprocessors (CMPs) increase, size of network-on-chips (NoCs) and network latency increase. NoCs consume an increasing fraction of the chip power as technology and voltage continue to scale down, and static power consumes a larger fraction of the total power. Currently, processor designers strive to send under-utilized cores into deep sleep states in order to improve overall energy efficiency. However, even in state-of-the-art CMP designs, when a core going to sleep the router attached to it remains active in order to continue packet forwarding. The router attached to a sleeping core has low traffic load, due to no packets to or from sleeping core. An on-chip network called SMART (single-cycle multi-hop asynchronous repeated traversal) that aims to present a single-cycle data-path all the way from the source to the destination. This paper, we propose reducing the VC(virtual channel) of router that is attached to sleeping core, based on SMART NoC, reducing power consumption and bringing little performance penalty. We evaluate our network using synthetic traffics. Our evaluation results show that VC power gating increases network latency less than 2% when the workload is low, and compared with no bypass path network, the power is reduced about 13.4%.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    PLUFS: An Overhead-Aware Online Energy-Efficient Scheduling Algorithm for Periodic Real-Time Tasks in Multiprocessor Systems
    Zhang Dongsong, Wang Jue, Zhao Zhifeng, Wu Fei
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2016, 53 (7): 1454-1466.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160163
    Abstract973)   HTML0)    PDF (4387KB)(555)       Save
    Although some existing multiprocessor energy-efficient approaches for periodic real-time tasks can achieve more energy savings with taking practical overhead of processor into consideration, they cannot guarantee the optimal feasibility of periodic tasks. For the non-ignorable overhead of switching the processor state in embedded real-time systems, this paper proposes an overhead-aware online energy-efficient real-time scheduling algorithm in multiprocessor systems, the periodic tasks with largest utilization first based on switching overhead (PLUFS). PLUFS utilizes the fluid scheduling concept of time local (TL) remaining execution plane and the switching overhead of the processor states to implement energy-efficient scheduling for real-time tasks in multiprocessors at the initial time of each TL plane as well as at the end execution time of a periodic task in each TL plane. Consequently, PLUFS can obtain a reasonable tradeoff between the real-time constraint and the energy-saving while realizing the optimal feasibility of periodic tasks. Mathematical proof and extensive simulation results demonstrate that PLUFS guarantees the optimal feasibility of periodic tasks, and on average saves more energy than existing algorithms, and improves the saved energy of some existing algorithms by about 10% to 20% at the same time.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    XOS: A QoE Oriented Energy Efficient Heterogeneous Multi-Processor Schedule Mechanism
    Gong Xiaoli, Yu Haiyang, Sun Chengjun, Li Tao, Zhang Jin, Ma Jie
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2016, 53 (7): 1467-1477.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160113
    Abstract1634)   HTML0)    PDF (2548KB)(557)       Save
    Smart mobile devices are playing a more and more important part in people’s daily life. However, the pursuit of increasing performance of mobile devices directly conflicts with the limited battery capacity. The inevitable contradiction between them begins to block the development of smart mobile devices. To overcome this limitation, the heterogeneous multi-processor architecture can balance the user experience and the energy consumption on smart mobile devices, which makes it become a new solution. Based on a compartmental QoE model, a schedule mechanism called XOS oriented heterogeneous multi-processor devices is presented to provide a high energy efficient solution. In XOS, the user interaction tasks are recognized by the operating system based on the cross-layer information, and more computing resources are allocated to these tasks to guarantee the quality of experience, while resources would be limited for other tasks to reduce energy consumption. A simulation system is built to verify the effectiveness of the XOS model and then make a reasonable optimization. Then the implementation and the experiment of the XOS are conducted on Odroid-XU3 board with Android operation system. The result shows that the tasks scheduled by XOS decelerate lessens 2.7%~7.3% QoE lost, whereas they reduce 8%~48% energy consumption at the same time.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Optimization Research on Thermal and Power Management for Real-Time Systems
    Li Tiantian, Yu Ge, Song Jie
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2016, 53 (7): 1478-1492.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160134
    Abstract985)   HTML1)    PDF (2463KB)(520)       Save
    Power consumption issue of real-time system has been paid much attention to by both academia and industry due to its constraints on energy, peak temperature and deadline of real-time task. Up to now, there have been many related researches. Temperature-unaware traditional researches usually adopt DVS to scale processor states for optimal power management. However, with the increasing power density of processors due to the continuous shrinking of chip size, the mutual effect between temperature and power has become unignorably. As a consequence, many new temperature-aware optimization approaches have derived based on the traditional methods. This paper firstly makes an overview of the three models (task, thermal and power) this research bases on; secondly, this paper divides existing researches into two categories: temperature-unaware traditional researches and temperature-aware optimization researches, and the latter one is further divided as single task optimization and multi-task scheduling; thirdly, this paper makes a comparison of the researches from mechanism, optimization goal and effect, and scheduling time etc., analyzing their advantages and disadvantages; finally, this paper points out the future research directions.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Green Hierarchical Management for Distributed Datacenter Containers
    Hou Xiaofeng, Song Pengtao, Tang Weichao, Li Chao, Liang Xiaoyao
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2016, 53 (7): 1493-1502.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160119
    Abstract1241)   HTML2)    PDF (2645KB)(511)       Save
    In recent years, modular datacenters (datacenter containers) have become promising IT infrastructure solutions due to their impressive efficiency and scalability. Pre-fabricated containers can be deployed not only in existing warehouse-scale datacenter facilities for capacity expansion, but also in urban/remote areas to support onsite Internet of Things (IoT) data processing. Combing conventional centralized datacenter servers with distributed containers can offer cloud providers new opportunities of exploiting local renewable energy resources and reducing unnecessary data movement overhead. This paper investigates a hierarchical management strategy for emerging geographically distributed datacenter containers. We logically group distributed datacenter containers into multiple classes that have different data accessing patterns. During runtime a central navigation system is used to monitor the utilization of each container class and perform dynamic sleeping scheduling to further improve the overall energy efficiency. Experimental results on our scaled-down test-bed show that the proposed mechanism can save 12%~32% energy cost while ensuring high performance.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Energy Optimization Heuristic for Deadline-Constrained Workflows in Heterogeneous Distributed Systems
    Jiang Junqiang, Lin Yaping, Xie Guoqi, Zhang Shiwen
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2016, 53 (7): 1503-1516.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160137
    Abstract1191)   HTML5)    PDF (3863KB)(616)       Save
    Most of existing energy optimization heuristics with deadline constraint for workflows in DVFS-enabled heterogeneous distributed systems usually trap in local optima. In this paper, we propose a new energy optimization heuristic called backward frog-leaping global energy conscious scheduling: BFECS. This algorithm makes full use of surplus time between the lowerbound of the workflow and the constrained deadline. Specifically, it starts from the constrained deadline, and leapfrogs towards the lowerbound of the workflow with different leap interval. During the whole process of leapfrogging, the leap intervals are continually changed according to the locally optimal value until the endpoint of leapfrogging is reached; the scheduling sequence with least run energy consumption is also saved at the same time. Furthermore, more energy consumption can be reduced by leveraging slack time reclamation technique, and the idle time slots caused by precedence constraints can be assimilated by the tasks through running at a lower and suitable voltage/frequency using DVFS technique, without violating the precedence constraints of the workflow and breaking the deadline. The experimental results show that the proposed algorithm can decrease energy consumption significantly.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    A Statistic-Based Method for Hard-Disk Power Consumption in Storage System
    Sun Jian, Li Zhanhuai, Zhang Xiao, Wang Huifeng, Zhao Xiaonan
    Journal of Computer Research and Development    2016, 53 (7): 1517-1531.   DOI: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160133
    Abstract959)   HTML1)    PDF (8104KB)(349)       Save
    Due to the rapid development of big data in the data center, power consumption of storage system is a major issue in today’s datacenters. How to reduce the power consumption of storage systems has become an urgent issue and a hot research topic in the field of computer science. As the hard disk drive is the primary storage medium in today’s storage systems, modeling hard-disk power consumption is attracting more attention in the current state of research. The accurate power consumption model of disk can not only solve the problem of power matching in data center devices, but also estimate the accuracy of energy-efficient solutions. We develop a statistic-based hard-disk power modeling method that estimates the power consumption of storage workloads. The model makes up the weakness of traditional fine-grained model and it is more accurate than the coarse-grained model. In practical applications, it does not need to record the disk internal activities, and does not need to trace complex parameter. Our power estimation results are highly accurate, which means error of 3% and the model is applicable to the synchronous IO and asynchronous IO. Moreover, our model can also be applied to various online storage systems and data center.
    Related Articles | Metrics

ISSN 1000-1239 CN 11-1777/TP

    2016绿色计算专题

    默认 最新文章 浏览次数
    Please wait a minute...
    选择: 显示/隐藏图片
    1. 2016年绿色计算专题前言
    刘志勇, 窦勇
    计算机研究与发展    2016, 53 (7): 1423-1424.  
    摘要819)   HTML0)    PDF (389KB)(653)   
    计算系统的能耗问题是影响计算系统本身发展、使用以及人类生存环境的重大问题,受到学术界、工业界等各方面的高度关注。本刊定于今年出版“绿色计算”专辑,为计算机系统的研究、开发、使用和管理等工作者提供一个展示计算系统节能创新技术的平台。本专辑征文发出后,获得计算机领域专家学者的广泛支持,收到大量投稿;稿件经过数十位专家的评审,遴选出9篇论文刊登于本专辑。本专辑刊登的文章涵盖了面向高能效的体系结构设计、重要应用的高能效实现以及高能效的系统资源管理和调度等方面的内容。
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    2. 基于可重构微服务器的高能效指纹比对方法
    钱磊,赵锦明,彭达佳,李祥,吴东,谢向辉
    计算机研究与发展    2016, 53 (7): 1425-1437.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160076
    摘要963)   HTML0)    PDF (4765KB)(777)   
    大规模指纹应用需要强大的后端指纹比对计算能力作为支撑.基于可重构微服务器(reconfigurable micro server, RMS)技术,提出一种软硬协同的高效指纹比对方法,该方法充分发挥可重构混合核心计算架构的优势,采用优化定制的硬件加速部件对指纹比对算法中的计算密集部分进行加速.复杂控制流和离散访存较多的算法部分则以软件形式在通用计算核心上高效执行.在单个RMS计算节点上完成了算法原型的实现并进行了详细测试.测试结果表明:单个RMS节点上的指纹比对性能约为105万次秒,功耗仅为5 W.与相关工作相比,该性能是单个X86集群节点的15.5倍;能效是X86集群节点的583倍,是基于Tesla C2075的GPU服务器的5.4倍.与单纯的FPGA平台相比,基于RMS技术的实现方法更具灵活性和可扩展性,是未来构建大规模指纹比对系统的一种高效的技术解决方案.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    3. DSP芯片中的高能效FFT加速器
    雷元武,陈小文,彭元喜
    计算机研究与发展    2016, 53 (7): 1438-1446.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160123
    摘要1502)   HTML7)    PDF (3876KB)(840)   
    快速傅里叶变换(fast Fourier transform, FFT)是数字信号处理(digital signal processing, DSP)领域中最耗时的核心算法,该算法的计算性能和计算效率将影响整个应用的执行效率.因此,在DSP芯片上设计实现了一个基于矩阵转置操作的高能效可变长度FFT加速器,采用多种并行策略开发批量小规模FFT算法与大规模Cooley-Tukey FFT算法中指令级和任务级并行.设计“乒乓”多体数据存储器,重叠数据搬移和FFT计算之间的开销,提高FFT加速器计算效率.并基于此存储器,提出基于基本块的快速矩阵转置算法,从而避免对数据矩阵的列访问;提出混合旋转因子产生策略,结合查表和基于CORDIC算法在线计算方式,最大限度降低旋转因子产生的硬件开销.实验结果表明:FFT加速器原型的峰值能效为146 GFLOPs/W,相比Intel Xeon CPU上的多线程FFTW实现,取得2个数量级的能效提升.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    4. 基于SMART技术的片上网络低功耗策略P-SMART
    李彬,董德尊,吴际,夏军
    计算机研究与发展    2016, 53 (7): 1447-1453.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160150
    摘要761)   HTML1)    PDF (3553KB)(530)   
    片上网络(network-on-chip, NoC)消耗的功耗在整个芯片中所占比例不断增大,并且随着芯片工艺精度的提升和工作电压的不断降低,静态功耗占片上网络总功耗的比例也越来越大.当前芯片设计者致力于将未被使用的核设置为休眠状态来降低功耗.然而,即便是最前沿的芯片设计,当核休眠时与它连接的路由器都是保持在正常状态来进行报文传输.而与休眠核相连的片上网络路由器由于没有注入和吸收的报文,负载相对较低.在SMART(single-cycle multi-hop asynchronous repeated traversal)片上网络中,报文能够单周期从源路由器到目标路由器.基于单周期多跳旁路(SMART)技术,提出一种关闭低负载路由器虚通道的策略P-SMART,以在不影响网络性能的情况下节省片上网络功耗.实验结果表明:相对于SMART技术,P-SMART的性能损失不超过2%,而功耗节省13.4%.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    5. PLUFS: 一种开销敏感的周期任务在线多处理器节能实时调度算法
    张冬松,王珏,赵志峰,吴飞
    计算机研究与发展    2016, 53 (7): 1454-1466.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160163
    摘要704)   HTML0)    PDF (4387KB)(543)   
    现有周期任务多处理器节能调度算法虽然在考虑处理器实际开销情况下可以实现较好的节能效果,但仍不能保证最优可调度性.针对嵌入式实时系统中不可忽视的状态切换开销,提出一种开销敏感的周期任务在线多处理器节能实时调度算法PLUFS.该算法通过TL面流调度模型与处理器实际切换开销模型相结合,在每个TL面的初始时刻、任务结束执行时刻实现节能调度,在不违反周期任务集最优可调度性的前提下,达到实时约束与能耗节余的合理折中.经过理论证明和模拟实验,结果表明:PLUFS算法不仅保证了周期任务集的最优可调度性,而且节能效果整体优于现有算法,能耗节余比现有算法提高约10%~20%.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    6. XOS:面向用户体验质量的高能效异构多核调度算法
    宫晓利,于海洋,孙承君,李涛,张金,马捷
    计算机研究与发展    2016, 53 (7): 1467-1477.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160113
    摘要1356)   HTML0)    PDF (2548KB)(544)   
    智能移动设备的重要作用日益凸显,然而,对于性能的追求与有限电池容量的矛盾制约了产业的发展.异构多核处理器架构以其平衡性能与能耗的优势,成为一种新型的解决方案.用户体验优化是智能移动设备的重要设计目标.借助一个分段式的用户体验模型,提出了面向异构多核设备的XOS(experience oriented scheduler)调度算法.XOS能够跨层获取任务信息,识别与用户直接交互的任务组,保证这些任务的计算资源分配以保障用户体验,同时限制非交互性任务的计算资源以降低能耗.通过建立一套仿真系统验证了算法的有效性并进行了调整优化,然后在Odroid-XU3开发板Android系统中进行了原型实现和验证.实验结果表明:XOS算法对于不同类型的任务仅产生了2.7%~7.3%的用户体验下降,但节省了8%~48%的能量.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    7. 实时系统温度功耗管理的优化方法研究
    李甜甜,于戈,宋杰
    计算机研究与发展    2016, 53 (7): 1478-1492.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160134
    摘要792)   HTML1)    PDF (2463KB)(502)   
    实时系统的能量受限特性、峰值温度约束以及实时任务的时间约束使其能耗问题备受学术界和工业界的关注,目前已有很多相关功耗管理研究.不考虑温度因素的传统功耗管理大多仅通过动态电压调节技术(dynamic voltage scaling, DVS)方法调度处理器的状态实现,然而随着芯片尺寸的不断缩减,处理器的功耗密度越来越大,温度与功耗之间的相互影响已不容忽视,由此在传统管理研究的基础上又衍生出了很多温度感知的新方法.1)对实时系统温度功耗管理依托的3个模型(任务模型、热模型和功耗模型)进行总结整理;2)根据是否考虑温度因素将现有研究分为温度无关的和温度感知的2类进行综述,后者又按面向单任务面向多任务进行分类;3)从具体机制、优化目标、优化效果以及调度时间等方面进行比较,分析现有研究的优缺点;4)指出未来研究方向.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    8. 分布式集装箱数据中心的绿色层次化管理
    侯小凤,宋朋涛,唐伟超,李超,梁晓峣
    计算机研究与发展    2016, 53 (7): 1493-1502.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160119
    摘要1006)   HTML2)    PDF (2645KB)(493)   
    近几年,模块化数据中心(集装箱数据中心)因其高能效可拓展的特点而成为极具前景的IT基础设施解决方案.预定制的集装箱数据中心不仅可以被部署在传统仓库级数据中心设施中以支持容量扩展,还能够被部署在城市/郊外以支持物联网数据的本地处理.把传统集中建设和管理的数据中心与地理上分布的模块化数据中心结合起来,能够更加方便地利用本地绿色能源发电以及减少数据传输成本.针对目前涌现的地理上分布的集装箱式数据中心模块提出了一种新型分层化管理模式,该技术将分布式集装箱数据中心逻辑上划分成多个性质和功能不同的层级.一个中央调配系统被用来监控每个层级的集装箱数据中心并施加动态休眠机制以进一步提升数据中心的整体效能.小规模测试实验结果显示分层化管理机制能够提升12%~32%的数据中心整体能效,并且保持较高的服务性能.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    9. 时间约束的异构分布式系统工作流能耗优化算法
    蒋军强,林亚平,谢国琪,张世文
    计算机研究与发展    2016, 53 (7): 1503-1516.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160137
    摘要936)   HTML3)    PDF (3863KB)(590)   
    针对现有异构分布式可变电压/频率(dynamic voltage/frequency scaling, DVFS)计算系统下具有时间约束的工作流能耗优化算法易陷入局部最优的问题,提出了一种新的全局能耗优化算法:反向蛙跳全局能耗感知算法,该算法利用工作流下界完成时间和约束时间之间存在的盈余,逐步从约束时间开始,以不同的跃度值向下界完成时间反向蛙跳,在此过程中基于局部最优解的判断不断调整跃度值直至蛙跳终点,同时保留该过程中工作流满足时间约束且任务运行能耗最小的调度序列.在此基础上利用处理器松弛时间回收技术,在保持任务间依赖关系和满足工作流时间约束的前提下,调整处理器运行电压/频率至更低的合适级别上,从而进一步降低工作流运行能耗.实验表明:该算法能显著降低工作流整体能耗,节能优势明显.
    相关文章 | 计量指标
    被引次数: Baidu(3)
    10. 基于统计量的存储系统磁盘功耗建模方法研究
    孙鉴,李战怀,张晓,王惠峰,赵晓南
    计算机研究与发展    2016, 53 (7): 1517-1531.   doi: 10.7544/issn1000-1239.2016.20160133
    摘要777)   HTML1)    PDF (8104KB)(344)   
    大数据的迅猛发展导致数据中心的存储规模急剧扩张,由此引发的高能耗已经成为数据中心普遍面临的一个突出问题,磁盘类存储介质在数据中心耗能中所占的比例也在逐年增加,能耗建模在目前学者们的研究中越来越受到关注.精确的磁盘能耗模型不仅可以解决数据中心中的电力配套问题,而且为当前数据中心各种能耗管理技术体现更为精确的节能效果.提出了一种基于统计量的磁盘能耗预测模型,该模型弥补了传统细粒度模型产生的额外负载影响,同时获取了比传统粗粒度模型更佳的预测准确率.在实际应用中,该模型不需要分析记录复杂的磁盘内部活动细节,也不需要繁杂的参数采集,仅需要存储系统中宏观的统计量作为参数,且预测精度与细粒度模型近似.通过实验验证,该模型在能耗预测上的平均误差为3%,并且针对同步IO及异步IO都有较好的预测效果.此外,该模型还可以应用于各种在线系统的能耗预测.
    相关文章 | 计量指标